Nightmares!, by Jason Segel

This book is a horror/fantasy book. It has all sorts of nightmarish things in it, including killer bunnies, a witch with a large appetite, a gorgon, and certain boy named Charlie who quite definitely is sleep-deprived and antagonized. When Charlie goes to sleep his spirit passes into the realm of Nightmares, called the Netherworld, and his body stays safe in bed. However, when his dreams become all too real, his body also passes into the terrifying world of the Netherworld. Soon he finds out that he needs to conquer his nightmares to ever get back. At the same time, in the Netherworld, chaos reigns. Under the self-appointed rule of President Fear, a giant, children are tortured and the Netherworld is thrown into a huge civil war. Charlie finds himself caught in the middle. In the end, he makes a fool of the so-called “great” President Fear. This book is very tense and tortuous. I like it a lot.♣

The High King, by Lloyd Alexander

This book is about a boy named Taran who destroys evil magic. This time we meet Taran in Caer Dallben, receiving a warning message from Gwydion, saying that the power-sword Dyrnwyn is gone. Taran and everybody else in Caer Dallben, except for Dallben, round up a war-band. Taran, under the Banner of the White Pig, gets many common folk to join him. They journey to Caer Dathyl and do battle, but lose, destroying Caer Dathyl. Taran and his band of common folk delay the Cauldron-Born from coming ot Annuvin, but they don’t slow the Cauldron-Born enough. All would be a disaster if Taran had not found the sword Dyrnwyn and unsheathed it. Taran strikes down the Lord of Annuvin, then sets out to make the world better.

This was the fifth and last book in the Chronicles of Prydain series. I love it. It is good for all ages, but especially happy-yet-strange ending lovers.

Taran the Wanderer, by Lloyd Alexander

This book is about a boy named Taran who seeks his parents. We first meet Taran doing exactly what I told you: seeking his parents. However, Taran meets an evil wizard named Morda. Morda almost turns Taran into a worm, but Taran breaks Morda’s life. Doli of the Fair Folk meets them and tells Taran that when he blows on the battle horn, Fair Folk would come and help. They meet a troublesome group of warriors named Dorath and Co. Dorath is very hospitable and invites them to stay for the night. Unfortunately, Dorath steals Taran’s sword. Taran leaves their company in the heat of anger. He meets a poor and ill-minded shepherd in the mountains. Taran blows his horn when the shepherd is hanging between life and death, but still the shepherd dies. Taran moves on to a new family, drops them, and goes to the Free Commots. He finds three jobs in teh Commots, but none of them interest him, so he leaves. He eventually finds a lake that will show him who he really is, but Dorath destroys it. Taran learns something in this adventure.

I like book number four in the Chrnoicles of Prydain series just as much as the rest. Only one more book to go!

The Castle of Llyr, by Lloyd Alexander

This book is about a group of friends who meet extraordinary dangers. We first meet them walking through a large forest where they meet an unusual man who calls himself Prince Rhun. They ride his ship to Eilonwy’s first stopping, which may be her last. Magg, the chief steward, seems nice enough, but he’s not at all what he looks like. One night, Magg rouses Eilonwy and they ride off. Taran, Fflewdur Fflam, Gurgi, and Prince Rhun set out to find her. Once cheerful day, they travelers meet Llyan, an angry wildcat. They find Eilonwy’s magical Bauble, but fall into a hole, where a giant named Glew lives. Glew traps them, but they escape. They head to Caer Colur, Eilonwy’s home. Achren is there, and so is Eilonwy. Eilonwy, however, is under Achren’s control. Eilonwy destroys the Caer Colur and everyone almost drowns, but Llyan pulls all the good people, including Eilonwy, out of the sea. Llyan journeys back to Caer Dallben with Taran, Fflewdur, and Gurgi. Eilonwy hopes to see Taran again soon.

This, the third book in the Chronicles of Prydain series, is also an awesome book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes fantastic stories.

The Black Cauldron, by Lloyd Alexander

This book si about a group of friends who destroy Arawn’s greatest power, the Black Cauldron (a.k.a. The Black Crochan). We meet them first in Caer Dallben, while they are having a council. They speak of how they are going to get the Black Cauldron. By daybreak the next norming, they’re gone. Taran’s group of guards consists of Taran, Adaon, and Prince Ellidyr, son of Pen-Llarcau. That night, they take guard by the Dark Gate to the Annuvin. That very night, Eilonwy and Gurgi find them. Doli of the Fair Folk brings news that the Cauldron is not in the Annuvin. A crow they meet called Kau tells them that the witches Orddu, Orwen, and Orgoch own the Cauldron. They find the witches and trade Adaon’s brooch for the Cauldron. They are told that a live man must willingly jump in. The problem? That man dies. The evil traitor King Morgant kidnaps them, taking the Cauldron. Doli saves them and they start the battle. It was Ellidyr who paid the final price; he jumped in the Cauldron and destroyed it.

I like this book. It is the second in the Chronicles of Prydain.

The Book of Three, by Lloyd Alexander

This book is about a boy, Taran, who finds greatness. We first meet Taran in the small town of Caer Dallben. When Taran is watching the pig Hen Wen, she run away into the forest his elders told him never to go into. He follows Hen Wen, but doesn’t find her. He does find Prince Gwydion, though. They travel together on a white stallion named Melyngar. It is not long, however, until the Cauldron-Born, the soldiers of Arawn, King of the Annuvin, find them and take them to Spiral Castle, where an enchantress named Achren lives. She separates Taran and Gwydion, and Taran goes tot he dungeons. There, Taran meets a girl named Eilonwy. Eilonwy helps him and a bard named Fflewdur Fflam get out of Spiral Castle. On the way, Eilonwy takes the Sword of Dyrnwyn with her. As they travel closer to Caer Dathyl, they find a hungry wolfhound named Gurgi. As the four of them travel closer and closer to Caer Dathyl, Gurgi find Hen Wend, and finally Taran meets The Horned King, Arawn’s servant. Taran draws the Sword of Dyrnwyn, which explodes in a wave of fire, killing The Horned King.

I like this book. It is the first book in the Chronicles of Prydain series. I think that I’m going to read all of the books!